Best of 2012: The year in blogging

blogging

I know I’ve used this in posts about blogging before, but it is just so appropriate.

I think this is going to be my last “best of 2012” post.  I had grand ideas to post an albums post, a book post and (surprise) a Madonna post, but I’m lacking the time and will to do it.  So instead, I’m going to do what is probably my favorite of my annual “best of 2012” posts – the one where I pick a blog post from each month of the year to highlight.  I had a lot of fun going back through my blog posts from this year, even though I think it was probably my lightest year of blogging since I started.  Such is the case with blogs in general though, although mine will likely never dry up completely because I’m stubborn like that.  The posts I picked don’t necessarily reflect the most popular ones, the most well-written ones or the most profound ones.  They are, however, the ones that struck a chord with me when I took a look back on the year that was.

One thing before we get to the list – 2013 will mark my 10th year of blogging.  When I first started blogging, a friend of mine at the time gave it 6 months.  I’m happy to have proved him wrong.  The blog has morphed into something I could never have predicted – part journal, part Madonna fan-site, part confessional and 100% me.  I’m pretty sure that I turn off some potential readers with my style and my refusal to be pigeonholed in either my blog or my life.  It’s okay.  As Madonna says “this is who I am, you can like it or not.”  To those that continue to read my blog day after day, you will never know how much I appreciate it.  The fact that someone would take 5 minutes out of their day to read something that I wrote amazes me.  If they comment, it’s just icing on the cake.  In 2013, I’m going to see if the blog can veer in new and exciting directions, even if, as the picture in this post states, it might only be read by 10 of you.  But I appreciate you more than you’ll ever know.

Now, on with the list.

January
Not enough hugs in the world / I come out as a huggy type of guy (like anyone was shocked) and explain why I think that we all need to be doing a lot more hugging.

February
Rumours at 35 / Fleetwood Mac’s Rumours turns 35 and I feel officially old.

March
MDNA Leak: 1, Dan: 0 / I give in and listen to MDNA when it leaked in full just before its release.

April
The Facebook blackout continues / I went a week without Facebook this year just to see what it was like.  This post was came in the midst of it.

May
Pile of ties / Not so much a great post, but a really great picture of my ties.

June
The last day of my thirties / I turned 40 this year, and inspired by Darren Hayes, I wrote a letter to my 20 year-old self.  It was one of my favorite pieces of writing I did all year.

July
The mind of a monkey / A book about a guy’s struggles with anxiety?  Yeah, sign me up.

August
A pretty smart playlist / iTunes’ Genius feature makes a perfect playlist for me.  Glad I preserved this because I inadvertently refreshed the playlist in iTunes and it’s just not quite as good.

September
Blazing trails / Wil Wheaton reveals he’s suffered from depression.  Not surprisingly, it really hit home with me.

October
Good Things: Potential New Boyfriend / Because really, you can’t talk about “Potential New Boyfriend” too much.

November
Journal me this, journal me that / Reflections on journaling as I tried to jump start journal keeping in my own life again.  As a follow up, I’m still journaling.

December
Santa mythbusters / I know I just posted this yesterday, but it was the best thing I wrote in December if I do say so myself.

This entry was posted in best of 2012, Blogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

