Mix CD Redux: Post Turkey Day 2002

Recently, I’ve found myself thinking a lot about this pair of mix CDs that I made almost exactly a decade ago. They were called, appropriately enough, Post Turkey Day 2002 Mix Vol. 1 and 2.

turkeydaycd

It is quite the motley mix of music, with not a single Madonna song to be found.  That’s pretty amazing as I think “Die Another Day” had just been released.   However, it was pretty representative of what I was listening to at the time.  This was in the waning days of the first round of free music downloading.  Napster had been shuttered, as had Audiogalaxy.  The only thing of that ilk that really remained was Kazaa, but the chances of getting a fake file or a virus were about the same as getting the actual song.  Still, I lived dangerously and used it some.  A year or so later, the iTunes store would open for Windows, featuring what I considered to be a pretty limited catalog, but it made me feel better that I could actually purchase digital music, even if it was wrapped up in DRM.

This mix was made in Winamp and then eventually burned to CD using some long forgotten burning software – likely Nero.  There are a lot of memories in this set of songs.  My daughter was a year old, I had made friends with another new dad online via an online men’s group that I was participating in.  While we are no longer in touch, it was a friendship that taught me a lot and helped shape me into the person I am today.  It was simultaneously a simpler and more complex time in my life, and I really feel like the song selection and sequencing on this set of CDs could not be any better.  Well, with maybe one exception.

Some thoughts on the music.

  • My favorite Trisha Yearwood song, “Thinkin’ About You” is here.  Such a oddly structured song – it really doesn’t have a chorus.  It does, however, have a killer bridge – the “this single minded fascination that I’ve got..” part.  I always get the “this train of thought ain’t about to jump the track that it’s on” part stuck in my head.
  • Whatever happened to Amanda Marshall?  Two songs are here from her Everybody’s Got A Story album, which was better than her second album, but not as good as her awesome debut.  Of course, now I’m going to have to go listen to “Birmingham.”  I iam nothing if not suggestible.
  • The only Natalie Merchant-less 10,000 Maniacs song that I like makes an appearance.  I did love “More Than This” but a full album of 10,000 Maniacs without Natalie Merchant just made me miss her more than ever.
  • I had completely forgotten about Cyndi Lauper’s song “Shine” until I revisited this CD set.  I first heard it when Jeff and I saw Cher on the Farewell tour that fall.  Cyndi opened for Cher and she was amazing.  I couldn’t believe how strong her voice was.  I got home from the concert and had to find the song.
  • Speaking of Cher, there’s “A Different Kind of Love Song.”  I remember carrying baby Anna around singing that song to her.  Naturally, I had altered the lyrics. “This is a different kind of love song/Dedicated to Anna.”
  • Inexplicably, a pair of Maureen McGovern songs are here.  My love for “Different Worlds” (aka the theme from the TV show “Angie”) is well documented.  Just so you know, according to the song, love seeks, finds, conquers and binds.  Also here is “Can You Read My Mind” (aka the Love Theme from Superman.)  I can’t remember at what point in my life I realized that the spoken words that Margot Kidder says during her flight with Superman were actually the lyrics to the song, but this is a really pretty song.
  • I’ve always had such a love/hate relationship with Shania Twain, but I do love “I’m Gonna Getcha Good!”  I also love Shania’s overuse of exclamation points in her song titles.
  • I can explain the Michael W. Smith.  But I won’t do it here because I’ve already done it here.  So read the story there.
  • The Natalie Cole/Diana Krall song is top shelf.  Even though even in this fun little song, Diana still comes across as a little bit of a cranky pants.
  • The only song that doesn’t work on this mix is Liza Minelli’s “Taking A Chance On Love.”  Talk about warbling.  It’s as if she had been possessed by the spirit of her mother and put marbles in her mouth at the same time.  But I leave it on the iTunes playlist I made out of this for completion’s sake.
  • Is there any band that screams 90s as much as Toad The Wet Sprocket?

So there it is.  See anything on there that is interesting?  Let me know in the comments.

This entry was posted in Mix CDs, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mix CD Redux: Post Turkey Day 2002

  1. John says:

    “Different Worlds” always makes me smile. Love that you have the Ice Castles theme on there too. Wow…I haven’t thought about Winamp or Kazaa in years. It amazes me how quickly technology changes these days. I sound old.

Leave a Reply

