Diving in

danoah-1351023738_600My friend Jess shared a picture on Facebook last week – I can’t even remember what it was now – from the public page of the blog of Dan Pearce, Single Dad Laughing. I poked around the Facebook page a little bit and the more I read, the more I realized that I really wanted to read this blog. I ignore 90% of the blogs in my Google Reader nowadays, so I found myself saying “do I really need another blog to read?”

It’s an extremely popular blog from the looks of it – 165,000 subscribers. He’s one of those guys that it looks like he’s turned his blog posts into books, which usually pisses me off beyond comprehension, but for some reason, I’m willing to give this guy a pass. It also looks like he’s been blogging for a while. I haven’t actually bothered to look yet.

I have to admit, I’m kind of intimidated by his blog. From what I’ve read, he’s funny, a good writer and so so honest. He has recently come out of the closet as bisexual, which I’m sure has spiked his blog traffic like nothing else, and when I read his experiences with coming out, I am struck by his bravery. I’m sure there are many who think his coming out as bisexual is just a stop on his train to gay town, which to me, grossly simplifies and underestimates the complexity of human sexuality.

It’s not the sexuality issue that has me spellbound, although I’ll admit that it’s an interesting read and I admire the hell out of looking the scary things in his life square in the eye. For me, it’s the balls-out honesty that is so desperately missing from the conversation these days. It seems to be hidden in bravado and idle chit-chat and “oh we dare not be vulnerable in any way at all lest the next guy stab us in the gut.” I say that, but really, much like the sexuality, it’s so much more complicated than that. From what little I’ve read of the blog, he finds the honesty in the idle chit-chat and bravado as well. As a gender, we may never really talk to each other, but I hope that in my lifetime we get just a little bit closer than when I started out, and I’m ready to do my part to make sure we make at least a little progress.

Whatever – I’m not really sure where I’m going with this, but I’m going to try to dig my way back through the archives. Because I think he might speak my language, if just a little bit. Who knows, I might get reading and find out, no, I don’t really connect to anything he writes. And that’s okay.

I guess that’s one of the reasons that I blog. I sometimes hope that someone random might come across what I write and see themselves reflected back, if even just a little bit. Even if I never know, the words did what they were supposed to. Of course, maybe they’re intimidated by nearly 1800 blog posts – and I’m proud of every one of them, even the throwaway ones – and never read, much like I am having a hard time diving in to Single Dad Laughing.

I’ll let you know what I find out.

This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

