Strange green desires

When people graduate from college, most people go out and buy a new car or get their first house.  When I graduated from college in the mid 90s, there was one thing I wanted more than anything else in the world.  Because I was going on to graduate school and going into debt and poverty simultaneously, cars and houses were not in my future, but goddamn it if I wasn’t going to get one of those green banker’s lamps.  I had always thought they were cool, mostly because they were green lamps.  It always seemed to me that whenever a movie had a library in it, there were the green banker’s lamps, all lined up in a row.  Funny how I have never seen one of those lamps in any library in real life.  Come to think of it, I’ve never seen them in any bank either.

The mystique of the banker’s lamp was seriously diminished when I found out you could buy them at Wal-Mart for around 25 bucks, although you can spend upwards of $100 on premium models.  Still, it was a boon because I wasn’t going to have to spend a lot of money to get one.  I bought one – the 25 dollar one because, after all, a lamp is a lamp – and put it on my pre-fab pressed wood desk that I bought at Target and thought I was the shit.

I still have a green banker’s lamp, although it’s not on my desk.  It’s on my bedside table, having found a home there after we rid our bedroom of all lamps with cloth shades.  I’m pretty sure this is the second one that I’ve owned, the first one having had its green shade cracked and broken.

I don’t think they’re as cool as I once did, but I can’t imagine not having one around.  Fortunately, since they’re mass produced cheap enough for them to be sold at Wal-Mart, I don’t think I’ll have to worry about that.

This entry was posted in Life stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strange green desires

  1. Cat says:

    There must be something about graduation that brings on a yearning for green glass. I graduated uni in 1973, and the world was quite a different place; I’d been stocking up on the free cutlery that came with my Mum’s petrol fill-up, some cheap red wineglasses (why I thought Mateus was more elegant in ruby, I’m not sure…) and then, the very first “real” thing i set about buying was.. indeed, a green glass banker’s lamp. Mine came second- (third-, twelfth-, who knew?) hand from Kensington Antique Hypermarket. It cost me two pound fifty that I could have better spent on oatmeal and orange marmalade… but I thought it was the most refined and sophisticated bit of frippery, albeit useful frippery, I’d ever seen. Its beauty reflected … so I thought.. on me. And my exquisite taste. I put it on the top of an old piano that someone had left in my flat. It stayed with me through moves to California, New Orleans, and Toronto. Sadly, it didn’t make it from Toronto to Guelph. It was cat-apulted off the bedside table by a schizoid Siamese in 1988. Thus the end of my first post-grad purchase…and a bit of my youth. 😉

    • Dan says:

      What a fantastic story, Cat! Thanks for sharing it.

      The other bit of my youth that was destroyed was a turtle lamp – the shell was the “shade” so-to-speak, and it fell from my desk thanks to an errant move by my elbow. A few years later, my wife and daughter replaced it. The new one sits right next to my computer.

      It’s funny, last night I had no idea what to write about, so I turned to my left and there was the green banker’s lamp. And so this post was born.

Leave a Reply

