Popping bubbles

The latest rage in our house is the newest “with Buddies” iPhone game Bubble Galaxy with Buddies.  After downloading it last week sometime, Heidi has nearly beaten the game, stymied only by the fact that she can’t get 5 new Facebook friends to play her.  If you ask me, making sending your friends unsolicited game requests contingent upon winning the game is just wrong anyway, so I am imagining that she will grow weary of that and just call it a “win” for her even if she doesn’t get 5 new Facebook friends to play.

The game itself reminds me a lot of Snood, a PC game that we played in the late 90s/early 00s.  Basically, it’s a color matching game with a twist.  There are power-ups and multipliers that can increase your score.  There’s also a fair bit of strategy that goes into it so it’s not just mindlessly letting bubbles loose.  On many levels, I really enjoy it as it’s not a huge time sink – each game lasts only a minute.  And I have to admit, the animals are pretty cute.

Here’s the trouble.  I SUCK at it.  I was telling my friend Matt the other day that Bubble Galaxy exists solely to be another game that everyone can kick my ass at.  And that’s pretty much what happens.  Part of my trouble with it is that I cannot figure out how to get these massively high scores like my wife does.  My current goal is to get 400,000 points in a single round and, let me tell you, I’m nowhere close.  I score between 100,000 and 200,000 points pretty consistently, but getting the 300,000 point achievement was more of a fluke than anything else.  There seems to be no rhyme or reason as to whether you score an astronomical number of points or a hardly any at all.  At the end of each round, the little animal that is shooting the bubbles flies up and knocks a bunch of bubbles off.  Sometimes this scores you 10,000 points and other times it scores you 100,000+ points.  Again, there seems to be no method to their scoring madness.

Regardless of this, I’m still playing.  I may get frustrated with it, but the communal nature of the game is appealing to me and practice makes perfect I guess.  If you want to play me, my user name is “dancullinan.”  Only play me if you enjoy kicking my ass on a regular basis.

This entry was posted in games and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Popping bubbles

  1. Jess says:

    I finally got that 400k goal last night, and I’m not even sure how I did it. I had paused the game about 15 seconds in, then picked it back up when I was eating dinner, so I was barely paying attention to it. Maybe the secret is half-assing it?

    • Dan says:

      I’m convinced you’re right – not trying seems to be the winning move. The randomness of the point tally of the final bubble drop is what annoys me the most.

  2. Amy says:

    STILL can’t get 400,000!

  3. Mike C. says:

    I played someone who scored 600,000 on me! I suck. I can barely get 200,000. I just don’t get it. I rarely have enough coins for the power ups and I won’t pay for the other characters so I’m screwed there too.

  4. LovieLovoa says:

    My high score is almost 2million

    • Dan says:

      Like I said, I’ve gotten better as I’ve gone along, but I’m kind of *this close* to deleting the app from my phone. I’m kind of over it now.

Leave a Reply

