Razor blade racket

And so we begin post-a-day November.  That’s right, it’s time for my annual attempt to do a blog post once a day for 30 days.  No scheduling of posts is allowed – I have to find time to write every day between now and the end of the month.  Last year, I did pretty well. The two years prior to that, I missed a day.  Given my track record on blogging these days, I don’t know how well this will go.  But I’m going to give it another shot.

Because I’m always interested in programming for success, my first post is going to be a little bit of a softball, but it ties in well with another event going on this month.  A friend of mine was telling me at lunch today that his workplace is doing “no shave November.”  I suspect that this is closely related to “Movember” which takes place during the month of November.  Movember is all about men growing mustaches to help raise awareness of men’s health issues such as prostate and testicular cancer.  These are great causes to be sure, but I’m kind of baffled as to how growing a mustache-only and looking like a sexual predator raises awareness for these health conditions.  Anyway, who am I to judge – except when it comes to mustaches only.  That is a serious no-no that I cannot abide by.

All this talk about facial hair got me to thinking about what a racket razor blades are.  Now, if you’re lucky, you’re one of those guys that shaves once a week whether he has to or not.  We always used to tease my dad that for him to shave, he would just have to let a kitten come and lick the milk off of his face.  This strikes me as very odd because he grew a very impressive goatee a couple years back, although he is clean shaven again.  For beards like that, you can just buy a bag of 10 Bic disposable razors for $2.99 and you’re good.  But for a guy like me, that can grow a full beard in a few hours, those will never do.  I had a beard for almost 10 years until April of this year when, in a fit of je ne sais quoi, I shaved it off and went for the sideburn look.  Overall, I’m really happy with that, but the one thing I didn’t anticipate was how expensive it would be to maintain.

When I had a beard, all I had to do was shave my neck and my upper cheeks every 3 days or so and keep the beard short and trim.  Being clean shaven requires significantly more upkeep, with me only being able to get away with skipping shaving one or, at the most, two consecutive days.  Consequently, my pack of ten Gillette Sensor razor blades (that cost me TWENTY TWO DOLLARS the last time I bought them) has gone from lasting me the better part of a year to only a couple of months.

In and of itself, this isn’t such a big deal.  But it seems like every time I go to buy razor blades, I end up just getting pissed at how expensive they are.  I toy with the idea of getting the cheap ones, knowing full well that if I do, I’ll end up spending more because they just don’t work.  I could buy an electric razor – I had one during college – but honestly, it’s not enough.  It might be able to get another day or two between shaves with an electric razor, but I always feel like it doesn’t do nearly as good of a job as shaving with a blade.

So I guess I’m just going to have to suck it up and spend the money.  It’s either that or grow a beard again which I don’t really want to do because I spent a lot of time working on the way my sideburns look and I’m pretty pleased with them.  Sideburn maintenance is a post all its own, and I’m still working out exactly how to take care of them so that when my hair gets long they don’t look like tufts of hair on the side of my head sticking out like a pair of vestigial wings.  Eventually I’ll get the hang of it.

UPDATE:  Via Matt, the friend I was talking to at lunch.  If this is for real, where has this been my whole life?  Also, I kinda want to hang out with this guy because I would become more cool simply by association or osmosis.  Or something.

This entry was posted in Random thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Razor blade racket

  1. k115810 says:

    Dollarshaveclub.com, seriously

  2. Elliot says:

    Razor blades are a big money spinning con aren’t they? I was shaving once a week until I was working full time again, now, a lot more often. Oh well, more blades to buy then. I don’t think I could manage the straight razor.

    • Dan says:

      I’m giving that dollarshaveclub.com thing a whirl. I’ll be sure to report back on the quality of the blades.

      Agreed on the straight razor. I manage to cut myself with the regular blades more than I care to think about.

      • Elliot says:

        I’ve cut myself so often in the past that it doesn’t even hurt anymore, and sometimes I don’t even notice.

        Yeah report back on the website, it will be interesting to know if it is as good as we hope.

Leave a Reply

