Thises and thats

I feel like such a blogging failure.  I haven’t been able to motivate myself to write in paragraphs for 10 days now and despite my best efforts this morning, nothing is coming out of these fingers that merits being preserved on the Internet for all time.  But isn’t that what the sum total of blogging is anyway?  I’m kind of forcing myself to write something this morning to hopefully break up the logjam and get the writing going again.  We are heading into November soon, during which time I’ll do my annual “1 post per day” thing and at the rate I’m going, I’ll pretty much fall flat on my face within a couple of days.

Heidi’s in Albuquerque this week for Gay Rom Lit.  This is her last conference of 2012.  I’ve kind of resigned myself to the fact that this is the year we had to spend money to make money.  I think when it’s all said and done, we’ll be glad that she did all this networking this year.  That said, I don’t think she wants to do any more than three cons next year.  I’m off this week to be home with the child who is almost to the age at which she doesn’t really need all that much adult supervision.  If I were creative, I could probably work rather than burn up PTO while Heidi’s gone.  But to be honest, it’s just so much less work to be at home.  Not that I’m sitting around twiddling my thumbs doing nothing during the day when Anna’s at school.  I have a laundry list of things to do, some of which includes the biweekly deep cleaning of the house which I have yet to start.  As Heidi told me on the phone last night, it would behoove me not to save it all till Saturday.

The trouble is, I am just not motivated to do ANYTHING.  The weather is not helping.  It’s rainy, gray and cool and that just does not predispose one to wanting to get a lot of work done.  I will do some today though.

Have to admit that I’ve been a little bit sad that Hoarders disappeared from Netflix streaming, as did most other A&E content.  Luckily, when I was looking to see if American Horror Story is on Hulu, I discovered that Hoarders has found a new home there.  Sadly, they only have 5 episodes, but they are 5 episodes I haven’t seen.  When I was getting ready to watch the first one, Anna came back to my office and immediately laid down on the bed next to me to watch.  I have to say, I think she has a little bit of a crush on Matt Paxton.  She’s always talking about his “super cool sunglasses” and if the episode has him in it, she totally wants to watch it.  She also really likes Dr. Robin Zasio – I think because she has a very gentle approach to the hoarders, but also pulls no punches either.  It’s easy to say that Hoarders makes you want to go clean your house from stem to stern and throw out everything that you haven’t managed to in the last 5 years, but it really sparked a good conversation between Anna and me.  The root of hoarding really seems to be anxiety and since that’s something that Anna and I share, it’s revealing to see the forms that untreated anxiety can take.  So many of the hoarders have their sense of happiness tied up in the “stuff.”  And what was really cool is that Anna recognized this.  Whenever the doctors talk about how they cleaned the house but didn’t really treat the underlying condition, we had a chance to talk about how anxiety can cripple you if you let it drive the bus.  It’s important to recognize it as a part of you – as Anna said “it’s ‘baby you’ and you have to treat it kindly” – but becoming a prisoner to it just will never have a good outcome.   I wish I could have said at age 10 that my anxiety is the baby part of me and that I have to treat it kindly.  Sadly, it took me till my late 30s to figure that out and come to terms with it.  As I always say, it was a different time when I was 10, so it is what it is.  Just glad that I have helped Anna find that inner strength by being candid about my own struggles with it.

My anniversary present from my wife came this week while she was gone.  And honestly, I couldn’t think of anything more perfect.

Now that Amy and Rory have left Doctor Who, they finally got around to putting out a Rory figure.  When I first saw it on Forbidden Planet’s web site, I didn’t think it looked much like Arthur Darvill, but really, as you can see in the closeup above, it does look like him.  I almost want to head over to Mayhem today and see if I can find an Amy Pond figure, because he really seems lost without her.  Heidi and I always feel a little bit like real world Ponds, and we’ve been grousing about the lack of a Rory figure for a long time.  I’m glad that they finally got their act together and made one.

Speaking of anniversaries, I have to take a minute to wish my good friend Matt and his wife Anne a happy 15th.  They got married a week after we did in 1997 even though I didn’t meet him until a decade later.  So neither of us has an excuse to forget our anniversaries.

12 days til MDNA madness starts in Kansas City.  I wonder what time she’ll start.  All I know is that no one will put Madge in a binder.  She’ll shoot you dead – in the head.

That said, the binders thing is already getting kind of stale so I figured I better get in on the action now before it was too late.

I’ve been listening to a lot of Mayer Hawthorne this week and I just can’t quite decide if he’s a cool dude or a major douche.  His Twitter feed has douchey moments, but I am also willing to admit that since he’s almost 20 years younger than me, I just might not be able to relate.  I do love his music quite a bit though.

Finally, here’s a great new song I discovered thanks to my friend Blake, who, along with my friend John over at Pop Music Notes makes sure that quality country songs never fall off my radar.  I like the lyrics to this song a lot – not really redneck, but they definitely won’t be showing up in a pop song either.  Kacey Musgraves is one to watch.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thises and thats

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    My 12-year-old son is interested in watching the newer Doctor Who. I know little about it. Is it an appropriate show for that age?

    • Dan says:

      Kinda depends. It can get a little scary sometimes, so depending on his tolerance for that, it may or may not be. But overall, it’s appropriate.

      • Carrie Rubin says:

        Great, I’ll tell him. He doesn’t get too freaked out. I bet he’ll like it. Thanks!

      • Elliot says:

        Myself and many Brits of my generation grew up on this show. Definitely ok for a 12 year old. I have friends with younger children who love it. I watch the latest ones (more out of nostalgia), my wife thinks it is lame. I remind myself that it is a bit stupid, but more a show for children that teens and adults can enjoy too, and I still watch it. – I’m not impressed that Amy and Rory are gone!

      • Dan says:

        That’s true, Elliot. It’s a little scary for my almost 11 year-old, but admittedly, she’s a bit of a wuss when it comes to scary things. Overall, I’d imagine most 12 year-olds can handle it.

        Re: Amy & Rory. I know. I hated to see them go, but change is the engine that drives Doctor Who. I’m just glad they ended up together because I can’t think of a couple made for each other more than those two.

Leave a Reply

