Fashionably late

So I guess the word on the street is that Madonna is taking the stage on her MDNA tour somewhere between two and two-and-a-half hours after the time the show is supposed to start.  This translates into a 10 or 10:30 PM start time for the shows we’re scheduled to go to.  All I can say is that thank God we have nowhere to be the next morning for either of the shows.  One of my favorite stories to tell from Sticky & Sweet in 2008 was how the girls behind us were yelling at Madonna (who hadn’t yet taken the stage) when it was she was nearly an hour late.  “Some of us have to go to work in the morning!” they protested.  Like she gives a shit.

No Madonna show I’ve ever been to has started on time.  They’ve all started between 45 and 75 minutes late.  There’s a certain element of this that adds to the anticipation of the show, knowing that at any minute, the lights will go down and she will grace us with her presence.  And what would a Madonna concert be without Jeff and me making a comment about Madonna quick running to Target for Lee Press-On Nails?  However, I do think that this 150 minute late start thing is a bit excessive.  All I can say is she better be back there helping Rocco with his homework because it smacks a little bit – no a LOT bit – of not having much appreciation for the audience, all of whom have paid a large sum of of money for the privilege of seeing her live.

Like I said, at least we don’t have to be anywhere the next day.  For us, a Madonna show is a Big Deal.  This is largely due to the fact that we always have to travel to see her.  We’re traveling a much shorter distance than we have ever had to before, but both times are going to require an overnight stay in a hotel.  Still, it irks me that she can’t start on time.  I’d even settle for as on-time as she’s been on previous tours.

A friend of mine had tickets to the MDNA show in D.C. the other night – the show that featured the now infamous “Black Muslim” speech – and he did what I would consider unthinkable.  HE BLEW OFF THE MADONNA SHOW.  He had his reasons, which I respect, but I think that the exceptionally late start was at least partially to blame for this.  Unlike Madonna, most of us – as those girls pointed out at Sticky and Sweet – do have jobs to go to the next morning and we’re not as young as we used to be.  My 21 year-old self would be ashamed, but my 40 year-old body is in bed at 10:30PM more nights than not.  She’s pushing the start time of her show past the bed time of some of her long-term fans.  Not everyone is in as amazing shape as she is and let me tell you, I certainly don’t bounce back from that kind of stuff like I used to.

I have to admit though that I would never resort to something as extreme as skipping the show.  If, for whatever reason, I die prior to MDNA hitting the Midwest, I want my corpse to be rolled into the arena.  Jeff would never forgive me if I bailed on him, especially since he endured a kidney stone during The Confessions Tour in Vegas.

So it’s MDNA or bust for us, no matter what time it starts.  The things we do for Madge.

This entry was posted in Madonna, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fashionably late

  1. John says:

    Anyone who knows me well knows I hate being late. I just don’t see any excuse to keep an audience waiting for 2 1/2 hours. Between that and her attitude toward ticket prices, it’s very clear to me that she has a lack of respect for her fans and is now just playing with them like a cat with a cornered mouse. Sorry for the blasphemy, but there’s no reason fans who have stayed with her for 30 years should have to suffer for some kind of reward, especially with a triple digit ticket price.

  2. Elliot says:

    Bet you cannot wait huh?

    What is it with the late start though? You work that hard you cannot be bothered to start on time?

    • Dan says:

      I find it really to not be in line with her Type A personality, unless she finds that being habitually late is a way to control the whole situation.

Leave a Reply

