Brushes with celebrity

I never meant to let almost 10 days elapse between posts – really, I didn’t.  But it happened.  I can’t guarantee that this week will be any different, but since I have a few minutes this morning, I thought I’d share this little bit that kind of goes along with my “Vicarious Thanks” post from a couple weeks ago.

My friend John and I had a rather spontaneous conversation on Twitter last night regarding Mary Chapin Carpenter’s “I Am A Town.”  It was a song that I was kind of late in my appreciation for as I didn’t recognize its simple elegance amidst the more up-tempo songs on Come On, Come On.  All songs really are poems set to music, but I feel like “I Am A Town” in particular feels poetic and I mentioned that in my reply to him.  So many times, when you mention a celebrity in a tweet, you don’t ever get a response.  This time, however, was different.  This is what I woke up to today.

As another friend of mine always says when a celebrity tweets back at him, my work here is done.

This entry was posted in Celebrities, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Music, Twitter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brushes with celebrity

  1. John says:

    I had no idea it would lead to that, but how cool was that? I got a little giddy last night when I saw the response.

  2. Carrie Rubin says:

    Ha! Good for you. That’s pretty cool. 🙂

Leave a Reply

