Vicarious thanks

Today has been kind of a turd of a day for many reasons I won’t go into.  So instead of focusing on the bad, I’m going to focus on the good.  A journalist friend of mine messaged me today (via Scramble With Friends, no less!) telling me that he was going to be interviewing Mary Chapin Carpenter in 2 hours and did I have any question ideas?  While I figured the question was more rhetorical than anything else – surely he knew what he was going to ask her – but I said something about how if he got a chance, to tell her how much I’ve respected her and her journey over the years and how her music saw me through more than a few bad patches in my life.  This blog is littered with posts about how influential she was during my college years, when she put my feelings into words and attached them to a country-pop hook I couldn’t resist.

I honestly didn’t expect him to say it.  But as it turns out, he did.  Her response was “thank you and I’m glad you’ve stayed with me through all these years.”  I’m sure she gets that kind of stuff all the time from fans, but it felt good to be able to finally “tell” a celebrity what an impact they’ve had on my life.  It made me feel a little bit bad about being so lukewarm on her new album, although as I mentioned in a previous post, I suspect it’ll take on all new meaning once we shake summer off and we head into the cool, crisp days of autumn.

With everyone constantly trying to get the attention of celebrities on Twitter these days, it felt like a momentary one-on-one with one of my favorite artists with my friend as an intermediary.  In this day and age of political divisiveness and endless snark and cynicism, this really made me feel good today.

This entry was posted in Life stories, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vicarious thanks

  1. John says:

    I think we are on similar pages when it comes to MCC. I would love to talk to her at some point, but just knowing that she’s still in the game is good enough for me.

    • Dan says:

      I’m afraid I would become a bumbling idiot in her presence! Also she’s one celebrity who hasn’t caused me to lower my opinion of them based on their Twitter presence.

  2. Elliot says:

    Thats interesting that you got chance to do that.

    • Dan says:

      It was. And completely unexpected. It likely was not all that earth shattering for her but it allowed me to finally thank her for the role her music has played in my life.

  3. Pingback: Brushes with celebrity « This Man's World

Leave a Reply

