A summer song list

I wasn’t going to do this, but I was inspired by my bloggy pal xolondon today to do so.  So you have him to thank (or blame.)

The summer of 2012 was not the best.  It was hot and dry which didn’t please the farmers here in Iowa much.  By the time the rains came in early August, it was almost too little too late, although it did make my yard grow like crazy.  On a personal level, we bled money like crazy due to many many things and have spent most of the summer coming up with a plan to get on top of it.  I worked A LOT, which I guess in this day and age, is good since I know so many people that are looking for work but can’t find it.  So I took solace in the music quite a bit as I am wont to do.  It was a pretty good summer for music – probably not as good as 2010 when Aphrodite ruled – but in May and June, each week brought a new album that I was at least interested in hearing.  Not since the fall of 2005, which culminated in the release of Confessions on a Dance Floor, have there been so many highly anticipated new releases in such a short period of time.  Anyway, here are some of my faves that defined the summer of 2012, for better or worse.  Click the links to listen.

Get A Job / Gossip
“I’d love to stay and party but I gotta go to work.”  I love my job, but man, I didn’t take nearly enough vacation this summer.

Hypocrates / Marina & the Diamonds
Electra Heart is, without a doubt, the album of the year.  I’ve bonded with my daughter over it, who loves it as well.  I’ve been playing it since March and I’m still not tired of it.  So many Marina songs could have been here, but according to iTunes, I’ve played this one the most, so here it is.

I’m Addicted / Madonna
A late summer addition, again, inspired by my daughter.  I love changing the “M-D-N-A, M-D-N-A” chant in the song to “A-N-N-A, A-N-N-A.”  She gets perturbed with me when I do that in that tweeny way that I’m getting accustomed to.

Titanium / David Guetta (feat. Sia)
A monolithic song thanks to Sia’s powerful vocals.  “Shoot me down, but I won’t fall, I am titanium!”  Good for when life’s challenges get a bit overwhelming as they frequently have this summer.

Pontoon / Little Big Town
Here’s my trashy song. (wait, Dan, aren’t these ALL trashy?)  No idea how big of a hit this was on the country chart, but man, I can’t resist it.

I Tried Going West / Mary Chapin Carpenter
Always a sucker for MCC’s songs written in three-quarter time, it’s a bright spot in an otherwise very disappointing album.  I’m hoping that it sounds better against the autumn backdrop.

You Ain’t Seen Nothin’ Yet / Lisa Marie Presley
A smoky slow burn of a song outside my normal listening tastes that I couldn’t stop listening to mid-summer.

Silenced By The Night / Keane
I’m kind of a fair weather Keane fan, but I’ve really enjoyed their Strangeland album more than any album since their debut.  A bit predictable, but I just can’t resist Tom Chaplin’s soaring vocals.

Shot You Down / Florrie
Anna always sings the “I shot him down, down, down, down, down, down, down, down” as “Can’t think of any more lyrics, lyrics, lyrics, lyrics, lyrics, lyrics” but there’s no denying the appeal of this song, even though Madonna did the “gun as an image” thing better in “Gang Bang.”

Every Night I Say A Prayer / Little Boots
I’m still not sure what to make of Little Boots, but I’ve really loved her two singles she’s released this summer.  “I can see into the future” but I still don’t know when her album will be released.  And whatever you do, don’t ask her!

Timebomb / Kylie Minogue
Not rocket science or anything, but it was a fun little summer ditty from Kylie that had the added benefit of being a complete surprise as well.

Let’s Have A Kiki / Scissor Sisters
THE song of the summer, although I did love “Call Me Maybe” (a song I purposely left off this list.)

Tonight / Saint Etienne
A holdover from spring, which means it’s guaranteed a spot on my year-end list, it’s the only song I’ve ever heard that effortlessly captures what it feels like to be anticipating a live show from your favorite act.

spiral / Alanis Morissette
Finally, a song that will carry over into fall.  Full of the melancholy that I love about autumn, but also with a spark of hope that you bring with you from summer.  “Don’t leave me here with all these critical voices /Cuz they do their best to bring me down.”

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A summer song list

  1. Elliot says:

    I’m not seeing Bob Mould on there. Mind you he is probably not very summer…

  2. Great list! We share so many faves this year. I will mentally amend the Florrie lyric. I should tell her Anna said that – it’s pretty funny. 🙂 [but Florrie ignores me now… ]

  3. Pingback: Forget about it | Set On Shuffle

Leave a Reply

