Bye bye Spotify

ImageI cancelled my Spotify Premium membership this morning.

They didn’t do anything to irritate me nor was I dissatisfied with the service.  I signed up for it back in May stating that if I used it, I would cancel my eMusic subscription.  Well, as you might imagine, I did no such thing because I found that cutting the cord with eMusic was just not all that easy.  I’ve frequently said that eMusic always feels a little bit like stealing music because, while they don’t have quite the selection of iTunes or Amazon MP3, they have improved a lot over the years and they are always cheaper than either of those services. 

Ultimately, it boiled down to the fact that I really like owning my music vs. just being able to stream it.  That seems practically old school now, kind of the 2012 version of the “would you rather have the physical CD or the digital download?” argument.  I used it some on my phone, but not enough to continue to pay $9.99 a month for it.

I’m not sure if I’ll regret this or not, but I suspect that in a couple weeks, I won’t even notice Spotify’s absence on my mobile devices.  I still have the desk top program that I can use if I’m willing to suffer through ads (I am) and I mostly use Spotify for trying things out before I buy.  The free version gives me that.  Additionally, I will have to eventually go to a data plan on my phone that doesn’t have unlimited data and nothing chews up data like streaming music.

Call me old fashioned, but I take a lot of solace in knowing that I’ve purchased the song.  Plus then I’m not just lining the pockets of the Spotify CEO, but I’m buying the music that the artists put out.  They get a lot more money from my one time purchase than 100,000 plays on Spotify.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bye bye Spotify

  1. John says:

    I tried out Spotify when it was in beta in the US, but I dropped it like a hot potato when they required login via Facebook. My life has been fine without it.

    • Dan says:

      The FB login thing doesn’t bother me too much. I feel like it’s people’s own responsibility to monitor app authorizations on FB. Of course, the people who make the apps are counting on the fact that they won’t.

  2. Elliot says:

    I completely agree, I prefer to own it. Old school? Maybe, but I think if there is a net outage, or no signal, then I own nothing if I use a streaming service. I like to be able to play music without being snooped on. I occaisionally use the free spotify, but I own a lot of music so I prefer that.

    On the unlimited phone data thing, I also don’t have that. However a friend of mine does have it. He uses a radio app on his phone so he can listen to some of the bbc service (whilst he is living in the US), which he plugs into his car stereo so he can listen to it on the way to and back from work. Obviously unlimited data required, but I like that use of it.

Leave a Reply

