Being at war with each other

I very frequently say that it takes so little to be kind. But for some reason it seems to be rather difficult for many people.  It’d be easy to blame it on our overly cynical society, but I think that’s too simple.  I’m sure that’s part of it, but in my 40 years on earth, I’ve found that so often, being negative is the path of least resistance.  I know it’s naive and simplistic, but I just wish people could get along.

Thinking about this tonight reminded me of this Barbra Streisand song which is from her The Way We Were album.  I have a hard time with 70s Barbra – Stoney End notwithstanding.  She wasn’t singing standards but she also wasn’t entirely contemporary either and it all seems so same-y, but still, this is one of her better albums from that time period.  The album cover begs for the 12″ of a vinyl record.  Anyway, the song is “Being At War With Each Other.”

And yeah, because I was one of those kids that always wrote down song lyrics that seemed apropos to the moment, here they are.

Everyone comes from one father, one mother
So why do we complicate our lives so much
By being at war with each other

Maybe I’m crazy but I don’t understand it
Why do we seem to vote to dig more holes
It’s such a waste of planet

There must be a reason that I can’t see
Maybe somebody else knows better than me

All I know is everyone else is a sister or a brother
So we’ve got to look around again and stop
Being at war with each other
Being at war with each other

We’ve got to look around again and stop
Being at war with each other

This entry was posted in Music, personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Being at war with each other

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    Great lyrics. Great singer. Great post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

