Excuses excuses

I haven’t been blogging.  What can I say?  I’d like to say I’ve been busy – which I have been – but mostly, I’ve been lazy.  It’s the dog days of summer and sometimes just getting up and around is all I can do.  Anyway, today I start a 7-day stretch at work so the chances of a massive number of blog posts this week are pretty low.  Although Heidi is going out of town on Thursday and since I’m working, Anna’s going to her grandmother’s house for the weekend, so maybe over the weekend?  Still, I wouldn’t count on it.

A handful of things worth mentioning:

  1. I got a new iPhone case yesterday after my Otter Box finally bit the dust.  I can’t say I’ll ever buy another Otter Box.  For as much as it was, it should have lasted for more than 8 months.  Although it’s likely that I’m just really hard on my phone.  Anyway, my new phone case is purple and it looks pretty awesome.
  2. The inadvertent disclosure of political views is the newest minefield to navigate on Facebook.  Don’t “like” or comment on any political stuff as it’s likely public and all your friends (and anyone else for that matter) will be able to see it.  That said, I’m trying to remind myself that the fact that someone doesn’t share my political views should not be a deal-killer.  We’re more than our politics – at least I hope so.
  3. MDNA is winding its way through Scandanavia right now and lands in the U.S. on August 28th.  It seems like forever until October 30th.
  4. For the third year in a row, I’m going to see Evil Dead: The Musical only this time I don’t have to travel that far to see it.  A local production in Des Moines is playing for a few weeks from late October through mid November.  It’s right smack dab in the heart of MDNA season, but I’m still going.
  5. Heidi just finished a new book which means that instead of writing this blog post, I should be beta-reading.
  6. The Olympics were mostly a pain in my butt because I don’t give two rips about sports, but I am thankful that it gave us the McKayla Maroney Is Not Impressed meme, as well as a Spice Girls reunion (even though they lip-synced.)

Until I blog next, here’s a picture of Richard Nixon performing yo-yo tricks with Roy Acuff at the Grand Ole Opry.  Is this the equivalent of Jon Stewart’s “moment of Zen”?

This entry was posted in Random thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Excuses excuses

  1. Don’t feel bad, Dan. It’s been over a year since I blogged it up. Sheesh…

  2. Elliot says:

    My wife is on her 3rd iPhone cover in almost as many months. She keeps buying nice looking ones, which are pretty useless when dropped.

    A friend of mine took her daughter to see Madonna last month, they really enjoyed it.

    I disagree with the olympics. I loved (most) of it.

    • Dan says:

      I think it’s mostly I just don’t get the whole concept of watching sports on TV. But then again, I’m sure there are many things I am passionate about that make people wonder what kind of drugs I’m on.

Leave a Reply

