Show me the merchandise

I’ve picked up a lot of really cool Madonna tour merchandise over the years.  As you might expect, most of it is overpriced garbage – especially the paper thin concert T-shirts – but when you’re in the moment, you can’t resist it.  Some of the stuff has not survived – my ReInvention Tour key chain broke rather unceremoniously one day and my Drowned World Tour poster never got framed so it ended up ripped and got thrown away.  But a lot of it is still around. Still, nothing has been with me longer or is more dear to me than my Drowned World Tour hat.

It’s definitely seen better days, but there hasn’t been a hat at a Madonna tour since that has been as good as this one.  I’ve had other hats like this, but they all kind of pale in comparison to this one.  The one from the Reinvention Tour was a trucker’s hat (please) and the one from Confessions, while tempting, just wasn’t a baseball cap so I didn’t get it.  I don’t even think that Sticky & Sweet had a hat.

Looking at the official merchandise from the MDNA Tour, it looks again like there is no hat to be had once again.  Even the coffee mug – which was amazing on the Confessions Tour and the Sticky & Sweet Tour – looks kind of cheap!  I will admit to the fact that the shirts are pretty awesome, and since I am going twice, I really want to get one at the Kansas City show so I have one to wear to the St. Paul show.  A friend of mine told me that it was gauche to wear tour merchandise from that tour to the concert.  Is it?  I had no idea.  Perhaps it is.  I am especially partial to the shirts that list the tour dates on the back, and it looks like a couple of them do that, so perhaps I’ll end up with one of those.  This one is especially tempting.

Although I also really like this one because it’s not obnoxious and, for a tour shirt, is actually a little bit subtle.

The only drawback is that it doesn’t have the tour dates on the back.

But perhaps I’ll chuck it all and just go for this one.

Although let’s not and just say we did.  Talk about a shirt that I could not make work under any circumstance.

This entry was posted in Madonna, MDNA, Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Show me the merchandise

  1. Tour program, that’s all I need. It lasts!

    • Dan says:

      I always get that as well. Even though I rarely look at them again, they are a nice memory of the show and you’re right – they do last.

  2. Wendy says:

    I think you could rock the Boy Gone Wild tank for sure 😉 What fun!

    • Dan says:

      I cannot imagine putting my forty-year old gray haired body into that shirt! I would look utterly ridiculous. 😉

  3. John says:

    I read something recently about gay men wearing ballcaps to look more butch. I know this doesn’t apply to you, but it was funny to me at the time. I’m assuming a Madonna tour hat would cancel out any benefit of just wearing the hat.

    • Dan says:

      Haha. I think wearing a cap with the word Madonna on it subtracts butch points significantly regardless of where it is worn. 🙂

  4. Yuri says:

    Talk about being in the moment… at the BA DC show, I bought 2 paper thin shirts and then wore one right then and there! LOL. The hat is very cool. I’m not a “hat guy,” but I do love that one.

Leave a Reply

