Movie Confessions Blogathon

A blog that I follow called Today I Watched A Movie participated in the Movie Confessions Blogathon which was started by MyFilmViews.  I was inspired to do one as well.  If you are so inspired and you blog, please feel free to follow in my footsteps.

Which classic movie don’t you like/can’t enjoy and why?

Ferris Bueller’s Day OffI’ve written about this before so my distaste for this film is well known, but it still shocks people when I say it.  I just can’t stand this movie and every time I see screen caps from it, I just want to smack that shit-eating grin right off of Ferris’ face.  If I go through the rest of my life and never see this movie again, it’ll be just fine with me.  Oddly enough, I really have no issue with Matthew Broderick as an actor.

Which ten classic movies haven’t you seen yet?

  1. Dirty Dancing
  2. Top Gun
  3. The Shawshank Redemption
  4. Trainspotting
  5. National Lampoon’s Animal House
  6. Groundhog Day
  7. The Blues Brothers
  8. Caddyshack
  9. The Godfather, Part II
  10. Jaws

Have you ever sneaked into another movie at the cinema?

I haven’t, but when I was a kid, I sure thought about how I would do it.  I have also been tempted more than one time to sneak into another movie as I’m leaving the one I just saw but have never done so.

Which actor/actress do you think is overrated?

This one was easy.  Matthew effing McConaughey.  Pretty much if I hear he’s in the movie, I am immediately less likely to want to see it.  How this guy became famous I’ll never figure out, for he has yet to display any kind of acting chops at all.  Many women I know just think he is the bee’s knees, and then I’m reminded of the interview where he said he didn’t use deodorant.  That’s sexy.  That and he seems to come across as such a “dude” that I just want to vomit every time I see him.

From which big director have you never seen any movie (and why)?

I’m sure there are a bunch of classic (meanings early to mid 20th century) directors that I’ve never seen but I tried to limit myself to more contemporary directors.  Bearing that in mind, I thought for sure that Woody Allen would be the one, but as it turns out, I’ve seen Everything You Wanted To Know About Sex (But Were Afraid To Ask).  I don’t really avoid movies because of a director (I’m more inclined to avoid a movie because of an actor or actress in it) so I Googled “famous directors” and got some hits but without fail, I’d seen at least one of their films.  Probably the closest I’ve ever come to not seeing any films by a certain director is Mel Gibson.  I have never seen Braveheart and fast forwarded through 90% of The Passion of the Christ.  And The Man Without A Face?  Yeah, another one of those 90s films that I inexplicably missed.

Which movie do you love, but is generally hated?

Not so much hated, but just not remembered is Dolly Parton’s 1992 comedy Straight Talk.  It was eviscerated by the critics (but surprisingly is only 44% on Rotten Tomatoes), but I saw this film in the theater FOUR times.  The only other movies I’ve seen that many times in the theater are Jurassic Park and Evita.  Yes, it’s light-weight and not really very good, but it’s DOLLY PARTON ferchrissakes.  Dolly plays Shirlee Kenyon, a four-times divorced dance instructor who packs her boyfriend’s bowling bag (don’t ask) and heads for Chicago.  Through a series of completely implausible events, she’s mistaken for a radio psychologist and put on the air.  Of course, because she’s Dolly, everyone loves her.  James Woods enters the picture as the investigative journalist who wants to expose her but naturally ends up falling in love with her.  Woods and Parton don’t have a lot of chemistry, but I enjoyed all the Dolly Parton one-liners, especially the one where she was asked by a hoity-toity psychiatrist where she received her training and her response was “Where did I train?  I’ll tell you where I trained…at Screw U!”

Have you ever been “one of those annoying people” at the cinema?

God, I hope not.  I’ve written countless times about how I rarely go to full price movies anymore because every time I do, someone ruins the movie.  By waiting till the movies come to the dollar theater, if someone ruins the movie by talking or texting or eating loudly, then at least I only spent a dollar (or two.)

Did you ever watch a movie, which you knew in advance would be bad, just because of a specific actor/actress was in it? Which one and why?

Let’s see, which Madonna movie do I pick for this one?  I’m going to have to go with Body of Evidence (1992)  Every review of the film had been merciless, and even Jeff had said it was bad (saving his worst criticism for Madonna’s hairstylist in the movie.)  Even getting the chance to see Madonna naked had grown boring by that time since she’d already bared it all in the Sex book a few months prior.  The movie had no sense of pacing and was just dumb dumb dumb.  But I watched it anyway, because it was Madonna.  And yes, she was hideous in it.

Did you ever not watch a specific movie because it had subtitles?

I don’t necessarily avoid movies with subtitles, but I haven’t seen one with subtitles in a long time.  Probably the last movie I watched that was fully subtitled was Pan’s Labyrinth.

Are there any movies in your collection that you have had for more than five years and never watched?

King Kong (2005).  I remember really liking this movie in the theater although I had to pee so badly by the end when they uttered the line “It was beauty killed the beast” I was up and out of my seat in 2 seconds flat.  It was a good movie but in desperate need of editing.  It needed editing so badly that when they announced a DVD containing the extended version, I couldn’t believe what I was hearing.  If any movie in the history of movie making didn’t need an extended version, it was King Kong.  To rewatch the whole thing is a tremendous time sink, and I just don’t have that kind of time at my disposal like I used to.

Which are the worst movies in your collection and why do you still own them?

I actually own the Roland Emmerich version of Godzilla which I like just enough to watch some of the effects.  Of course, I haven’t watched it in years and yes, it’s an absolutely terrible movie.  For one thing, they couldn’t make up their minds just how big Godzilla was.  And they forgot to write a coherent story that didn’t rip off most of the aspects of Jurassic Park.  And the monster shows up in full WAY too early in the film.

As to why I still have it…who would want it?

Do you have any confessions about your movie watching setup at home?

We’re pretty low rent at our house.  We don’t have surround sound or a stereo system that we run audio through.  We did get a Blu-Ray player last Christmas, but honestly, I don’t really see that much difference.

Any other confessions you want to make?

I love 90s rom-coms.  They just don’t make them like that any longer.

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Movie Confessions Blogathon

  1. todayiwatchedamovie says:

    Romantic comedies are the best!

    …there’s an extended version of King Kong? How?

  2. Elliot says:

    Hey I like Ferris! Well now given the benefit of age, and his different school culture. Sure it is daft, and he gets away with stuff, but to me it is just silly fun, daft eighties moaning, and a bunch of situations that would never happen. Plus I didn’t know a local idiot like him.

    I would try see, Shawshank, Trainspotting, and Groundhog day from your list. Woody Allen has some good films, but they were a bit difficult to watch for a while when the getting together with adopted daughter thing happened.

    I did sneak into another film once when I was younger, but I forget what it was.

    • Dan says:

      My opinion on Ferris is definitely in the minority and I’m okay with that. It probably doesn’t help that when I was Ferris’ age, I lived in constant fear of being caught doing the wrong thing so to see someone not only get away with it but to have it celebrated really torqued me.

      Shawshank has been on my list forever but alas, I just haven’t been able to get to it.

      • Elliot says:

        Shawshank is regarded as a classic in the uk so often featured in dvd sales, even as low as £3 (about $4.70), so most everyone owns it there.

  3. Pingback: Movie Confessions Blogathon « My Filmviews

  4. Carrie Rubin says:

    I never got why “Dirty Dancing” was such a huge hit. I thought it was dumb. And I was a young woman at the time–surely their demographic! (Or maybe I was a teen–don’t remember when it came out.) Some people still talk about it like it was some sort of cultural awakening. Just don’t get it. 🙂

    • Dan says:

      It came out when I was in the midst of high school and while I knew all the songs, I just never managed to see the movie. To this day, I have no real desire to remedy that fact.

  5. Nostra says:

    Finally have some time to read all the confessions people are making (with new entries still coming in). Hard to keep up with them all! Very happy that you’ve joined. Thanks as it really has made this a very succesful blogathon.

    I feel the same about Ferris Bueller. I didn’t see it when I was young and watched it last year. I just couldn’t get into it and didn’t understand why it is so loved.

    Out of the ten classic movies you name I would say you should try to watch Groundhog Day as soon as you can. That really is one of my all time favorites. It’s clever, funny and very rewatchable.

    McConaughey is not an actor who makes me want to check out a movie although I will say he was good in The Lincoln Lawyer.

    Hahah, you had me laughing trying to pick out which Madonna movie to pick 🙂

    I think I also bought King Kong but have not watched it since. Actually that happens with more movies…

  6. Pingback: Movie Confessions Blogathon | The Cinematic Katzenjammer

Leave a Reply

