What a feeling

A lot of people I know have had a big bad breakup with Glee this season.  While we have certainly been less enamored with it than we have in the past – as evidenced by the fact that we’re still trying to finish up the season even though the season finale aired 2 weeks ago – we still enjoy it when we watch it.  Sure, the writing is inconsistent and sometimes they are borderline offensive in their generalizations but the show has also pushed the envelope in ways that I can’t imagine a show doing even 5 years ago.  All that is well and good but for me, I’m mostly there for the music.  This season has been kind of hit and miss when it comes to their musical numbers which I’m sure has contributed to my general ennui when it comes to the show.  The “Saturday Night Glee-ver” episode was a notable exception – that one had me singing along to just about every song and led to Anna asking me why they were all singing in falsetto (me included.)  Pop culture educational moment at it’s finest, I say!

Last night, we watched the “Props” episode which ends with Tina and Rachel singing “Flashdance…What A Feeling” as they board the bus to Nationals.  I had admittedly forgotten about this song and when I heard their version, I wondered why I had forgotten it.  It’s a classic slice of 80s dance-pop that doesn’t seem to make all the 80s compilation discs like some of the other usual suspects do.  I had even forgotten that it won the freaking Academy Award for Best Original Song!  I swear that they are using the original instrumental in the Glee version.

Surprisingly, I didn’t have the original Irene Cara version so I went looking for it online.  Even more surprisingly, it is NOWHERE to be found.  All that can be found on iTunes, Amazon and Spotify is a rerecorded version of the song that only approximates the feel of the original.  This leads me to believe that there is some messy rights issue that keeps it from being available.  To this, I can only say GET IT FIGURED OUT!  A classic 80s song like “Flashdance…What A Feeling” shouldn’t be allowed to lie in squalor.  I posted my plight as a tweet last night and overnight, a friend of mine sent me the original version, so all is right with the world.

I haven’t ever seen the movie and I’ll admit now that I want to watch it.  I see it’s rentable on both iTunes and – even better – free for Amazon Prime members to stream.  I think I might have a date with this film in the near future.

Still, my best story about “Flashdance…What A Feeling” is how 11 year old Dan thought the line “take you passion/and make it happen” was “take you pants down/and make it happen.”  Like THAT would have made the radio in 1983.

This entry was posted in 80s, glee, Movies, Music, nostalgia and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

