Back in Iowa

We got home from Chicago tonight around 9:30 and I think both Heidi and I are ready to pass out from exhaustion despite the fact that both of us slept on the drive home (not while driving, I might add.)  It was a fun trip which I’ll post about in more detail this week.  For now, here’s three things that I know now that I didn’t know before we left.  Whether these are strictly Chicago related or not is up for grabs.

1)  If I had to drive in downtown Chicago traffic every day of my life, my life expectancy would be significantly shortened.  The thing that kills me is how, when traffic is at a standstill (like it was this morning when I was dropping Heidi and Anna off at the Adler Planetarium),  no amount of honking is going to make the traffic go faster.  Maybe it makes the honker feel good, but as the honkee, it just stresses me out and makes the situation 500 times worse than it already is.

2)  You really have to push past the self-preservation part of your brain to walk out onto The Ledge on the 103rd floor of the Willis Sears Tower.  But Anna and I did it.  Heidi doesn’t even like looking at the photos.

3)  This photo from the MDNA tour rehearsels was posted while we were gone.  It has taught me a couple things.  One, the visuals for this tour will be EPIC.  Two, not even Madonna can make paneling like that look good.

Still, the best quote about this photo goes to Caryle, who, after I posted it on Facebook and said that had to be for “Gang Bang”, responded “unless she’s decided to take ‘Cherish’ in a TOTALLY different direction.”  Touche.

This entry was posted in chicago, Madonna, MDNA, personal, tour spoilers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back in Iowa

  1. Elliot says:

    That ledge sounds really cool. I was a bit afraid of heights when I was younger, and thinking about this now, I’m not sure why I decided to do this, but in Turkey, on a holiday I went Paragliding off the nearby mountain (a tandem jump, I wasn’t in control). I didn’t enjoy it that much at the time but it got me over the fear. When I later visited the Eiffel Tower in Paris for the first time, I enjoyed standing at the top looking over the edge. I would love that ledge now.

    • Dan says:

      I don’t really have a problem with heights (and neither does Anna), but getting her on the elevator was next to impossible. She had herself all worked up about it for some reason – not sure if she was afraid it would get stuck or what. But once we got to the 103rd floor, she was all over it.

      • Elliot says:

        I went through a brief thing about elevators when I was around that age. Not sure why but a few months later I had gotten over it and it never bothered me since. Just part of growing up.

Leave a Reply

