Chi-town

After about 6.5 hours, many pit stops and a surprisingly road construction-lite I-88, Heidi, Anna and I have arrived in Chicago.  We’re staying at a swanky downtown hotel – it has a kitchen! – but fear not, for a downtown hotel, we are getting this on the cheap.

Chicago is one of my favorite cities.  It it a big city with a decidedly Midwestern flavor that’s missing from places like New York of Los Angeles.  The last time I was here was in 2008 when I went to Madonna’s Sticky & Sweet Tour at the United Center, so I was overdue.  Tomorrow, while Heidi’s at her conference, Anna and I are going to hit some of the sites.  We’re planning to go to the Willis Sears Tower and stand in one of those glass cubes.  We’ll probably also go to the Field Museum and Museum of Science and Industry.  We bought one of those City Pass things that gets you into 5 city attractions for this really awesome price.  Basically, if you do three of the five, you’re money ahead.  Anna and I will also have Friday to do some stuff too.  I need to make a trip to Boystown so I can gawk at expensive Madonna vinyl at Borderline Music and also stop at my friend Doug’s pizza place Pie Hole Pizza.

I’m also going to meet up with my bloggy friend Brendan and his family on Friday night and (very likely) Saturday morning.  I was trying to figure out exactly how my path crossed with his as we were talking about finally meeting up and I figured it out.   Back in 2009, I was reading the book The Accidental Time Machine.  When I added it to Goodreads, I was looking at reviews and Brendan had one as well.  I clicked on his profile, followed the link to his blog and the rest is history.  I even found the first post I ever commented on on his blog.  So it’ll be good to meet up with him and his family.

But for now, I must get my butt to bed.  I have a big few days ahead of me.

This entry was posted in Blogging, chicago, other bloggers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chi-town

  1. John Hill says:

    Wow…guess who will be arriving in Chicago in 48 hours. This guy! Have a great time, and I’m looking forward to our paths crossing in June.

  2. digitalsextant says:

    Yay! Have fun, and we’ll see you on Friday.

  3. Elliot says:

    I like how you fit in the trip to the music store (which is what I also would have done).

  4. Your post makes me crave to be in this amazingly gorgeous energetic favorite city of mine more than I already do. It was 2001 my last trip there, so saying I am overdue is an understatement. (The problem with living roughly 600 miles away). I absolutely cannot wait to share this experience with my now husband … planning a trip for the (hopeful) near future. It will be his first visit, and I have never done the City Pass thing so thanks for that! Have fun being tourist-y!
    p.s… It will always be the Sears Tower to me as well 😉

    • Dan says:

      It’s such a fun city to be in and this time around, staying downtown allowed me to really get a feel for public transportation. It’s the first time I’ve every used the train to get around and I swear that I’ll do that from now on.

Leave a Reply

