Y Camp, Darren Hayes, GCB – a motley mix

I’m at home this morning prior working the evening shift tonight.  I usually don’t work Tuesday evenings – that honor goes to Thursday evenings – but I traded out of Thursday so that I could go to Anna’s recorder concert that night.  I know.  The things we do for kids.  Really, it’s not that bad – I could be sitting through hours and hours of dance recitals that my child is in for 5 minutes.  Never was I so happy as when Anna decided she didn’t want to do dance any longer.  Not that horses are any cheaper of an endeavor, but at least I don’t have to endure the recitals and competitions.

Anna’s off to Y Camp this morning with her class.  They’ll be spending the night out there and after initially saying that she didn’t want to spend the night (there was another kid in her class who didn’t want to spend the night either), she declared to us last week after the final informational meeting that she wanted to try.  She’s had exactly two sleepovers at friends’ houses, both of which involved calls and/or texts to us as bedtime drew closer.  Last night I was a little bit nervous about her spending the night in a cabin in the woods because not only is it the set up for so many horror films, but it’s not the same as being in town with a friend.  We talked to her teacher and she’s going with her phone (even though she is not supposed to have electronic devices) and she’ll ask the teacher for it if she needs to call us.  I didn’t vocalize a single iota of my reservations about her spending the night to her – I’m sure her brain is going to kick into hyperdrive enough by the time night falls without me adding my own anxiety to it.  I know she’ll be fine.  Heidi and I were talking about it on the way back from dropping her off at school today.  I’m actually worried about things that don’t exist, like her wandering off and getting lost whereas my wife’s reservations are more “what is her brain going to do to her tonight?”  We made sure that she knew that if we need to go pick her up, we will do so, that whatever happens is okay.  She needs to listen to what her brain tells her and to remember that there are a lot of adults there whose jobs it is to keep the kids safe.  It’ll help that her best friend is in her class, so we’ll see.  As I alluded to in my last post, I’m a sentimental sap when it comes to my daughter.  There is something about dads and daughters, especially when there is only one of them.

Anna and me at her piano recital on Sunday.

Regardless, my nervousness about her going didn’t stop me from diving right back into my bed after dropping her off and sleeping for another 2 hours.  I’ll be really glad for it about 9pm tonight when I have an hour and a half left in my shift.

Today is Darren Hayes‘ 40th birthday, as well as my friend Lucas Miré‘s.  I’ll be joining them in just over a month.  Surprisingly, I’m not all that worried about turning 40.  I expected an existential crisis, but really, I did 30 pretty well with no huge hangups.  If I ever have a mid-life crisis, I’m sure it won’t be dramatic, involve a red convertible or trading my wife in for a younger model.  Honestly, I can’t imagine anyone putting up with me like she does.  It’s weird to have pop stars being my age – I’m so used to them being older.  It’s funny though because last night Heidi and I were watching GCB on Hulu Plus and I was curious as to how old some of the women are that play the main roles (for the record, I love Cricket – so full of moxie and bravado, but also kind of a softie when it comes to her relationship with her husband.)  They are all around my age.  It’s tempting to feel like I haven’t done ANYTHING when you compare yourself to someone like Darren Hayes who is almost exactly my age or the ladies from GCB who are on a successful TV show.  I remember being in college and on one of the harder days, I distinctly remember saying to myself “Stevie Nicks never had to go to college!”  I guess success is relative.  As I reach what may very likely be the midpoint of my life (if I’m lucky!), I think I have plenty to be proud of.  No, I’m not world famous with a million Twitter followers nor am I on TV or in the movies, but like that would have happened anyway?  Given my temperament, it seems pretty unlikely.

Speaking of Twitter followers, I really wish that only real people were allowed on Twitter.  I am so sick of spam bots that follow you.  As I always say, new Twitter followers are kind of like new friends – only every now and again do they actually work out.  I’ve also found that true of some WordPress “likes” – do some people who “like” the post even read it?

And I feel like I should mention that I signed up for the 30 day free trial of Spotify Premium.  After hearing from a friend via e-mail who told me that he was in pretty much exactly the same position as me, trying to decide if it was worth 10 bucks a month to get the Premium version, he said that he trialed it for a month and, upon finding he used it, promptly cancelled eMusic.  He said that he found himself buying a lot of songs that he may not have wanted just to use up his eMusic balance before it reset at the end of the month (it doesn’t carry forward.)  I’m using it some, but I’m still not sure it’s 10 dollars worth.  We’ll have to see.

In the meantime, here’s my favorite Darren Hayes video, “Me, Myself & I”,  in honor of his 40th.  He also wrote a letter to his 15 year-old self, which I may do for my own birthday, but I don’t want to be seen as copying.  I would like to look at it as inspiring me, but I don’t know that others would see it that way.

This entry was posted in Anna, darren hayes, Music, personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Y Camp, Darren Hayes, GCB – a motley mix

  1. Elliot says:

    With the greatest respect to your daughter’s playing, I think I would be trying to get out of the recorder recital as much as the dance. Could there be a worse sounding instrument? Bagpipes maybe?

    I think the same thing about twitter as well. I use it as a mini companion to the blog, but as I do that relatively anonymously, I don’t link to my friends twitter accounts. This may change if I drop the anonymity bit soon but in the meantime, there are lots of odd ones, always plugging their books or similar. One in particular that I follow has corny blurbs for his books that he posts at random times everyday. They are so common, that my wife and I have a good laugh at them. Oh and they have totally put me off wanting to get hold of the books.

  2. Yeah@Spotify! :o). Love your choice of “turning 40” music. One of the best pop song writes around…turning 40 is really nothing to “worry” about… I did that a few years ago and I don’t feel a day over 40!..lol.

Leave a Reply

