Have I lost the will to blog?

I really didn’t intend for a week to elapse between blog posts, but alas, it has. So much for being more deliberate about blogging.

A couple things:

1) Last night was the daddy-daughter dance at Anna’s school. It’s the fourth one that we’ve been to, and it was, without a doubt, the hottest one yet. I think they need to start having these things in January because a non-air conditioned gym on a muggy May night in Iowa is just not ideal. They also need to get some new music. It seems like it’s the same songs every year. I don’t know if it’s just because they feel like they can’t stray from tried and true, but the girls-alone dance is always “Single Ladies” and then they always think that that they’re going to get all the dads out on the dance floor without their daughters to do “The Chicken Dance.” Yeah, in your dreams. I’m not shy about dancing – it’s why we’re there after all – but “The Chicken Dance” is just dumb. Double that for “The Macarena.” And nary a Madonna song to be found. Not even “Into The Groove.” We’re neglecting our daughters’ collective educations.

It had a fairy tale theme this year, so Anna had fairy wings and body glitter and the whole nine yards. I was rocking the black suit/pink shirt look after getting advice from some of my nearest and dearest members of the fashion police. I think we looked pretty awesome, don’t you? This is the second to the last daddy-daughter dance before Anna is officially done with elementary school and on to middle school. We had an excellent time. The food was better than it’s ever been – they even had meatballs! They still need to have coffee there, although considering how hot it was, maybe that’s not such a good idea.

The thing that always kills me about this event is how few of the dads actually dance. There was one particularly joyless father who I never saw dance once. He spent the majority of his night talking on his cell phone. While we all had our phones out at one point or another during the night, I think he was the only person I actually saw talking on his. Anna has limited tolerance for dancing only because of the sweat factor (admittedly, I was a ball of sweat by the end of the evening), but we really enjoyed the dancing part. She caught me getting a little bit misty during the “I Loved Her First” song – so I’m a sentimental sap when it comes to my daughter. Sue me. But I sure didn’t intend for her to see it!

The other thing that is amazing to me is that the dads are all there with daughters, but by and large, we stand around not talking to each other. I complained to Heidi about that this morning and she said it’s because we’re guys at a non-guy event. My goal of the evening was to talk to at least one other dad that I didn’t know and I accomplished it, but it was as awkward as you might expect. It’s too bad. As I always say, I think if guys could just get over themselves and learn to talk to each other, we’d find we have more in common than we don’t. But we’re not socialized that way, and even a guy like me that is aware of the socialization and works consciously to break free from it still finds himself hemmed in by it. Oh well, maybe our sons will get it right.

One thing’s for certain – if I impart any lesson from going to daddy-daughter dances onto my daughter, it’s that any guy that refuses to dance is decidedly NOT worth her time.

2) Today is Anna’s piano recital. My father always says that piano recitals were the one thing that were just pure torture for him. Anna’s are always pretty fun because we usually play a duet and this year she’s doing a song on the piano as well as on her violin. Anna’s recitals are pretty streamlined and move quickly so I usually don’t have too much problem with them.

That’s all I have. I have some ideas for posts, but life has to slow down for two seconds for me to actually do them. I may have to survive the “end-of-the-school-year gauntlet” first.

This entry was posted in Anna, family and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Have I lost the will to blog?

  1. Chris Hall says:

    I know how you feel. I did not blog last Friday and I’m still not in the mood. In fact I have done next to nothing on social media for the last 3 days.

    • Dan says:

      I know what you mean. Sometimes, it’s just hard to find the time to blog, and I hate just throwing something up for the sake of blogging. Social media is so easy that way, but I don’t think it’s as satisfying as long form blogging.

  2. Elliot says:

    I clearly have a lot to learn about American schools and what they entail. I’ve never even heard of a daddy daughter dance. And piano recital’s is not something I’ve ever been to. I would likely be one of the dads not wanting to dance but likely would (at least a bit) anyway. Some things you just have to suck up and get on with, especially if it gives your kids a memory they will enjoy.

    I’ve been managing to keep the daily blogging going ok, although I do prepare and schedule some in advance. I might reduce the postings down to about 4 a week soon anyway as I wish to use the time on other writing projects. I guess I shall see how that pans out on the motivation front.

    • Dan says:

      The daddy-daughter dance is basically just an excuse for fathers and daughters to get dressed up and go out and spend time together. One of my friends finds them creepy because basically they’re taking something romantic and putting it “all in the family” so-to-speak. I don’t see it that way – I see it as modeling good behavior for my kid – I want her to know that a guy has to treat her right to be worth her time.

      I really go through spurts with blogging. Watch – this week I’ll probably have a post every day. It all boils down to what kind of free time I have and the end of the school year is always tricky.

Leave a Reply

