Saturday plans

We’re in the homestretch as far as being just the two of us.  Today we’re headed down to the Science Center of Iowa in Des Moines.  There’s a traveling exhibit there called Lost Egypt: Ancient Secrets, Modern Science that ends at the end of April, so we wanted to make sure we got there before it left.  We also may or may not see an IMAX movie while we’re down there.  Anna was not super excited about it, but when I showed her the options, there was a dinosaur one at 3:15 that she thought sounded pretty cool.  I’ll make sure to check again today because if she’s just lukewarm to the idea, I’ll save the money.  I haven’t seen a good IMAX movie in a long time – usually, they’re kind of a let down.  The best IMAX movie I have ever seen, without a doubt, is Journey Into Amazing Caves which I saw at the Museum of Science and Industry in Chicago.  It was our day-after-Madonna activity when we saw her on the Drowned World Tour in 2001 (Madonna declined our invitation to join us.)

We had a pretty fun lazy night last night.  She had the last day of her science camp at Iowa State yesterday and even before I dropped her off, she had told me she had “an extreme craving for cake.”  As many of you know, we’re trying to cut back the amount of refined sugar we’re eating and cake most decidedly does NOT fall into that category of food.  Well, I’d had kind of a shitty day yesterday and in a moment of weakness, we ended up at Hy-Vee and bought some bad for us stuff from the bakery.  Fortunately, it was just a single serving so it’s not like we have a whole cake or a container of cupcakes sitting around now that the craving has passed.  We played even more Lego Star Wars last night as well.  This was after she torpedoed an idea to watch The Empire Strikes Back on Blu-Ray.  Her response was “Dad, I don’t exactly watch Star Wars.”  When I said that she loved playing the Lego Star Wars video game, her response was “well, that’s INTERACTIVE.”  It’s hard to argue with that.  It is, as I have mentioned, a terribly fun game and I think my favorite part is watching Chewbacca rip the arms off the stormtroopers.

So all that’s left is for me to get showered and shaved and dressed and then we can head down.  I have to try to figure out how to keep this cheap because we’re on the end of the pay period and things are always tight right about now.  I figure if we eat before we go and then leave before suppertime, we’ll be in good shape.

Journey Into Amazing Caves is streaming on Netflix.  Maybe I’ll see if Anna wants to watch it tonight after we get back.  Chances are, it won’t be interactive enough.

This entry was posted in Anna, family, lego and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saturday plans

  1. Elliot says:

    Difficult to beat a bit of Lego Star Wars. Lego Indiana Jones is pretty funny too. He can use his whip to draw in the female companion for a quick smooch!

    • Dan says:

      We’ve spent most of tonight playing it too. We also have Lego Batman and Lego Harry Potter. Wasn’t as impressed with Lego Harry Potter but I need to give it another go. Now that Lego Indiana Jones is dirt cheap, I might have to ask for that for my birthday.

Leave a Reply

