I don’t get it

After a few weeks of giving it a whirl, I have to say that I just don’t get Get Glue.

Get Glue is yet another mobile app that allows you to “check-in”, but unlike Foursquare which checks you into physical places, or the similar check-in apps on Yelp and Facebook, Get Glue checks you into what you’re watching, reading or listening to.  I thought it could be cute and kind of fun to track what I was watching or reading.  I didn’t share any of it to Twitter or Facebook because I didn’t want to be annoying like that, cluttering up everyone’s feed with stuff I know they don’t give a shit about (vs. the stuff I normally post which people may or may not give a shit about.)  Get Glue has badges and stuff you can earn as well.  The more you check-in, the more you badges you get.

Well, I tried it.  And like I said, I just don’t get it.  I don’t understand what its purpose is.  Admittedly, I did have the same initial reaction to Foursquare – who gives a shit if someone is the mayor of the Walgreens?  Well, like most things, I found out that it was more fun with friends.  When I finally talked my wife into joining Foursquare so I could snoop be interested in where she went, that’s when it really got fun.  When I went with my friend Matt to Kansas City last October for Evil Dead: The Musical, it was always a race to see who could check in wherever we were first, in order to get the points for “first of your friends to check-in here.”  Yeah, that was kind of fun in a boys-will-be-boys type of way.

Get Glue provides no such rush.  Honestly, it’s one of the least necessary things I’ve ever seen.  I have Goodreads for books and last.fm for music.  As far as TV goes, I don’t really watch enough of it to really care about broadcasting to the world that I’m watching Revenge or Ringer (two of my favorite shows this season.)  Frankly, if I’m that excited about them, I’ll probably do a blog post on them.

So goodbye Get Glue.  I’d say it was nice knowing you, but really, it wasn’t all that.

This entry was posted in Random thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I don’t get it

  1. I must be so behind the times as I dont even get Foursquare… I see people using it all the time on FB… Get Glue had not even heard of… is the idea behind all these for some corporate head honchos to spy on people and arranging mad men type campaigns to sell people more stuff? I sometimes find social media exhausting.. you have to be so “up” on everything nad check all this apps and check in here and there… kids today just do it all so naturally!

    • Dan says:

      I admit that I really didn’t understand Foursquare at first either. It just seemed like an advertisement that you’re not at home — “Hey! Come steal my stuff!” And I definitely go through phases with it. Sometimes I check in all the damn time and other times, I go days without remembering to.

      Social media is terribly overwhelming. It’s why I have to take breaks from it every now and then.

Leave a Reply

