Pronunciation surrender

I haven’t been posting.  This is a problem.  I told my wife that my readers probably think I have died, except that 99% of my readers see and/or interact with me on a daily basis, so they probably know that life has been a whirlwind.  Or at the very least, they know I’m still alive.  There’s so much going on in my life right now.  Between home and work, I definitely can’t say that I’m not living life right now.  Sure, sometimes my life’s definition of living and my definition are two very different things, but whatever it takes, right?

It was against this backdrop of insanity that I realized today that I have given up my fight with, well, THE WORLD, when it comes to how to pronounce a certain antibiotic.  Ever since Levaquin (levofloxacin) came out, I’ve battled it out with other health care professionals because they insist on pronouncing it with a “short E” – LEH-va-quin.  I have always pronounced it with a “long E” – LEE-va-quin.  I’m pretty sure my boss at my last job pronounced it my way, but everyone else everywhere else pronounces it wrong.

How am I so sure I’m right?  Well, the generic name “levofloxacin” comes from the fact that it is the levorotatory isomer of the older drug ofloxacin.  We don’t go around saying “leh-vo-rotatory” do we?  Heck no.  It’s long E all the way.  And if that piece of evidence wasn’t enough to prove my case, there’s this:

Notice that long E symbol above the E?  I rest my case.

Still, I’ve found that even when you’re right, it’s hard to fight the world.  I actually said levofloxacin with a short E today.  I was kind of ashamed of myself.

However, I will never ever ever pronounce “metoprolol” the wrong way: “meta-PRO-lol.”  I mean, we don’t go around saying “propa-NO-lol” or “aten-O-lol” do we.

I swear the world would make so much more sense if they’d just listen to me.

This entry was posted in pharmacy, Random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pronunciation surrender

  1. The first and only other time I’ve come across this drug name was on Jericho and I’m sorry to report that Aasif Mandvi pronounced it with the short e.

Leave a Reply

