The last thing on my mind

I posted this video over on Facebook, but I found I had a bit more to say about it.  First, watch this:

I’ve really been into Dolly these days (xolondon is rolling his eyes now) but it’s probably partially due to her upcoming birthday and the fact that there’s new Madonna on the horizon so before too long, I’ll be listening to Madge to the exclusion of pretty much everything else.   I put the Dolly boxed set on my iPhone and have been listening to a lot of the classic Dolly Parton & Porter Wagoner songs from the 60s.  Let me tell you, those songs are SERIOUS country.  No country-pop crossover, no autotune – this is the stuff that I remember watching on Hee Haw growing up.  (“Gloom, despair and agony on me!”)

Anyway, Porter and Dolly split on rather unpleasant terms, but reunited in 1997 to celebrate his 40th year as a member of the Grand Ole Opry.  How awesome to hear this song 30 years later.  But how sad to see the amount of plastic surgery she’d had, even at that point.

For all her plastic surgery (which she’s probably now getting on the government’s dollar now that she’s on Medicare), she has got to be one of the most authentic celebrities I can think of.  What you see really is what you get with Dolly.  Just like I always say that I can see the Midwestern girl in Madonna, Dolly is still a Smoky Mountain girl and always will be.  I will be truly sad when she is no longer with us.

But as was pointed out tonight, at the rate plastic degrades, she’ll be around for a very long time to come indeed.

This entry was posted in Dolly Parton, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

