Books to come

As I wind up this year’s reading (books 49 and 50 are being read right now), I thought I’d blog a bit about three books that are high on my to-read list for 2012.  One is a reread, another is a long overdue read and one is a new release.

The Reread

Stephen King / The Tommyknockers

I read The Tommyknockers in junior high and I remember mostly being confused by it.  Consequently, it’s been one of my least favorite of King’s books.  I am, however, willing to give it another go, based mostly on the fact that most of the reviews on Goodreads sing its praises.  I found a two dollar copy at Firehouse Books in September here in Ames and it has been staring at me ever since, almost daring me to start it.   I don’t remember terrible much about it, other than it has a buried alien spaceship in it and people’s teeth start falling out.  It’s a bit daunting looking.  The paperback copy I have is 747 pages.  That’s less than both It and The Stand, but I can see it taking me an age to read.

I also kind of want to read King’s new book 11/22/63 but much like Anne Rice, a little bit of King goes a long way for me.  So I’m not sure when I’ll get to that one – probably when they start pricing the eBook a little more reasonably.  I have a hard time spending much more than about 12 bucks for an eBook.

The Long Overdue Read

J.K. Rowling / Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows

When I tell people I haven’t read the last Harry Potter book, they look at me incredulously.  How is it possible that I haven’t read it, especially with as much as I read?  I don’t know – for me, the Harry Potter series kind of peaked with the 3rd book , hit rock bottom with book five and then pummeled me with back story in book six.  I wasn’t confident that Rowling could finish it in such a way that wouldn’t leave me disappointed.  I’ve always liked the series but have never been a rabid fan of it like so many seem to be.  I think the downfall for me was all the weird names.  I had a hard time remembering who was who and which spell did what and for the most part, by the time I got to book 6, I was just reading to finish it.  The trailers for Part 1 and 2 of the Deathly Hallows movies intrigue me though, but I told Heidi that I didn’t want to watch the movies until I read the book which prompted her to tell me to get cracking.  It was on my to-be-read list all year, but it’s such a massive undertaking that I felt like it would take me a million years to read it, especially when you factor in the “homework” quotient.  But I think I’m ready to read it now.  We’ll see.

The New Release

Ronin Ro / Prince: Inside the Music and the Masks

I’ve read a lot of biographies in my day and when I saw this one on the Purple One, my interest was piqued.  I am not a die hard Prince fan, but I do like a lot of his music even though he hasn’t produced a worthy album in 15 years.  Still, his music soundtracked a lot of my life and it always seemed like he got away with doing the same shit that Madonna was vilified for.  So armed with just a little bit of knowledge about his career, I feel like reading this would be revealing and informative and right up my alley.  From the reviews I’ve read, the book spends the vast majority of its time on Prince’s career up till 1995, at which point he began turning out shit album after shit album to fulfill his record contract.  Honestly, I think that period of time would be the most interesting and probably the part of the story that is glossed over because of its relative lack of hits (okay, COMPLETE lack of hits.)

Again, it’s one of those eBooks that is priced too high for me to justify buying it.  I’m hoping that it arrives for Christmas or that the library gets it eventually.

So there’s three books that are coming up for 2012.  Hopefully next year at this time, I’ll be sitting here saying they were three of 75 books I read.

This entry was posted in Books, Prince, scary stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

