Zombify yourself

Our first (and only) Halloween party of the season was last Saturday night and was hosted by our friends Caryle and Jeff.  For years, I’ve wanted to dress up like a zombie, but every year, Anna told me she’d be too scared if I did.  Well, this year, she was finally old enough that she told me that she wouldn’t be scared.  I was already kind of thinking about it because originally, I was going to do the Des Moines Zombie Walk earlier this month, but life happened and it, well, didn’t.  It’s all for the best anyway because it gave me a chance to really think about the make-up and other things I wanted to do.

I had it all set in my head that I wanted to be a certain “type” of zombie.  Pharmacist zombie was too obvious and I didn’t want to do a zombie from one of the Romero movies, so no Hare Krishna Zombie or FlyBoy Zombie.  I had originally tossed around the idea of being Preppy Zombie, but I thought it might be too cold at Halloween to wear a short sleeved polo shirt with the collar turned up.  Plus I wasn’t sure how I would get the Flock of Seagulls hairdo, nor did I really want to.  I eventually settled on being Grunge Zombie in honor of the 20th anniversary of Nevermind.  One person at the party thought I could be Kurt Cobain, which would be clever but since he shot himself in the head there really can’t be a Kurt Cobain Zombie.

All I needed to zombify myself was white and green cream based makeup, some fake vampire blood and dark eye makeup to give my eyes that sunken look.  Add to that some spray blood for my clothing – which consisted of a torn flannel shirt from Goodwill, an old pair of jeans with holes in the knees and butt already and a white T-shirt – and you have your zombie costume for probably less than 20 bucks.  I threw in a stocking cap with plastic brain bits showing from Target which, at 12 dollars, was the single most expensive part of my costume.

Not bad, if I do say so myself.  The hardest part was getting the right mix of white and green.  Too much green and I just would have ended up looking like the Incredible Hulk, but I think the mix I got was just about right.  I’m going to do this again for Halloween night and I think this time, I might mix white and black for the gray zombie look which, admittedly, is a little more classic zombie than green, but I thought this worked pretty well too for the particularly rotted look.  The funniest part was, my gray hair actually worked to my advantage in this costume.  It fit in well with the rest of the costume.  The only thing I wish I would have done different is get the makeup all the way down the back of my neck.  Oh well, try again another time.

I also spent 5 bucks for one of those temporary wound tattoos – a bullet hole – and I was ready for it to be very lame but it actually worked out pretty well.  Heidi wanted me to put it in the middle of my forehead, but I was all “duh…then I would be dead.”  She’s an amateur, what can I say.  The tattoo looked pretty realistic for 5 bucks and it was surprisingly easy to put on.  I would definitely use it again.

So all I can say is that I’m not missing the zombie walk next year, even if I have to wear the exact same costume.

This entry was posted in costumes, halloween, Zombies. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Zombify yourself

  1. Nice! The next step up is to get some latex and do a bigger wound. Check out these resources:
    http://delicious.com/briley/makeup

Leave a Reply

